Working with the Environment Art Show 2019
Arts Council Windsor & Region, in partnership with the Greater Essex County District School Board and the Windsor-Essex...

Arts Council Windsor & Region, in partnership with the Greater Essex County District School Board and the Windsor-Essex Catholic District School Board, is proud to announce the 9th annual Working with the Environment Exhibition, April 30th 2019 at ArtSpeak Gallery. Sponsored by Unifor Local 200, this event provides local high school students an opportunity to showcase their artistic talents and share their work with the community. Local High Schools throughout Windsor-Essex are invited to submit up to three works of art that reflect the theme of the “environment”, “working (labour)” or a combination of both. 


Participating students will have their work displayed in an exhibition and are entered in a chance to win a jury selected monetary prize intended to help them further their artistic development and endeavours. Works include sculpture, painting, drawing, photography and fine craft. To participate, each school must register online no later than APRIL 5th 2019 AT 5:00pm. Below are the student and teacher packages for more information along with the online registration. There is also a People’s Choice Award that will be voted on during the reception on Friday May 3rd, 2019 starting at 6:30pm.


EXHIBITION DATES: April 30th – May 3rd, 2019


REGISTER YOUR SCHOOL BY: Registration is now closed


SUBMISSION DATES: April 16th – 18th, 2019 (Tues, Thurs, Wed 1-7pm at 1942 Wyandotte St. E)


RECEPTION/AWARDS NIGHT: Friday, May 3rd 2019 at 6:30pm

VOTING FOR PEOPLE’S CHOICE AWARDS: Ballot box in gallery during run of exhibition


PICK UP ARTWORK: May 7th – 10th, 2019 (Tues, Thurs, Fri 1-5pm, Wed 1-7pm at 1942 Wyandotte St. E)


Congratulations to our Winners!

Student Awards (Provided by Unifor):

1st Place: Grace Johnson, Natures Reflection

2nd Place: Emely Azucena Reyes-Bonilla, A Unique Unity

3rd Place: Fiona T. Dron, Ocean Blues

People’s Choice Award: Alyssa Weisener, Buttercup Beekeeper


ACWR, Unifor Local 200, Jurors: Karen McClellan (ACWR Board Member), Debby Grant (Unifor Local 200 Representative) and Evangeline John (ACWR Student Volunteer), and our volunteers would like to extend their congratulations to our participants:

Louay Albaghdadi, Emely Bonilla, Jaxon Brearley, Cammy Dong, Gabriella Dorey, Fiona Talida Dron, Elise Gheorghies, Miya Gill, Grace Johnson, Eva Koshulap, Sophie Langlois, Ryan Moir, Bianca Nygaard, Mariah Pimentel, Justina Sawrie, Isabella Spadafora, Alyssa Weisener, Vanessa Wong