Loading Events
  • This event has passed.
New Voices: 12 Words from 12 Songs
December 15, 2021 - January 15, 2022
New Voices is ACWR’s new 6 x 6 foot billboard located on the external wall of ArtSpeak gallery, right on the alleyway. The billboard, which features interchangeable letters, will be a place for language-based exhibitions and for concrete and experimental poetry installations. The initial focus of this program is to provide an outlet for underrepresented and marginalized voices in our community, including new generation artists, new immigrant artists, artists of colour, indigenous artists, artists with disabilities, francophone artists, and 2SLGBTQ+ communities.

Visit the New Voices Webpage HERE

About the Installation

12 Words from 12 Songs (Dec. 15, 2021 – Jan. 15, 2022) was created by the staff of ACWR, Alejandro Tamayo and Kaitlyn Karns. While a holiday-themed message is the perceived go-to around this time, the ACWR staff wanted to find a way to support local artists and specifically, local musicians. At ACWR, all artists from all disciplines are supported and this is just one small way to bring the Windsor- Essex music community into the New Voices project. As an audience member, we encourage you to engage with this word search and with the associated musicians and songs selected. The list of songs is linked below for easy listening and engagement.
If you are passing by ACWR, we encourage you to take a photo of the installation and complete the word search. The list of words is made of one word from the title of each song found in our New Voices playlist! All of the songs selected are by artists from Windsor-Essex and were released in 2021.

Words to find are:

New Voices Playlist 

*Click the track name to listen*!

Brief Ends– The Bishop Boys 

Muddy Water– Madeline Doornaert

Caught in a Cigarette Drag– Humble John

Losing Sleep– Allesandro

Why– Crissi Cochrane

Georgian Bay– Huttch

Hope You Realize– Mellodraw

Sunshine– Dane Roberts featuring Lisha Racquelle

Free Respecs – switchCase

Cosmic Rhythm – Joy de Bruyn

Viral Load – Justin James



December 15, 2021 - January 15, 2022

ON Canada